You need insurance the very moment you drive the car off the lot.
If you live in Georgia and buy a used car from a dealer in SC do you have to pay sales tax?
Yes, if you take delivery of an item in another state the merchant there MUST collect sales tax there. If the merchant ships it to you out of state via ‘common carrier’ the merchant does not have an obligation to collect Georgia sales tax, but YOU have the cargo to pay the USE tax and you will pay the use tax when you go to register the car.
When you buy a fresh or used car how long do you have to get insurance?
You must have insurance on the vehicle as soon as you purchase it. The nice part tho’, is that, if you already have an insurance policy for another vehicle, or if you are on a family policy and someone else in the family has a car with insurance, and you are listed as a driver on the family policy, that company will most likely cover your fresh auto purchase for a 15 day period, sometimes even a 30 day period. Check with your insurance agent for exact times as they vary with each company.
Is it legal to buy a used car just before filing CH 7 in Georgia?
You could be commiting fraud, not only in Georgia, but in any of the other states or possesions..
It is not illegal. You will, if the car is not covered by the vehicle exemption have to forfeit the car to the BK trustee.If the car was bought out of necessity, such as it was needed for you to get to your job, it will most likely not affect your BK filing. On the other palm, if you just “dreamed to buy a car”, you could have a problem getting the bankrupcy discharged..
If you buy a cheap used car right after you file Chapter 7 in Georgia will you have to include it in the case?
Georgia uses state bankruptcy laws, no Federal deductions are permitted. Under Ga. BK statutes the exemption amount for a vehicle is $3500. You are permitted to keep one vehicle only, unless there are migating circumstances, such as disabled person in the household. For the most part.. NO. Bankruptcy only deals with the date of filing or BEFORE. Now.. that’s not to say you can go out and buy a $100,000 car. Either way, you don’t include it “in the bankruptcy” because it was not an asset at the time of filing, which is what the peition shows.
Is there a state limit in Georgia for a doc fee when buying a used car?
StateMaximumSales Tax (%) 1Average RegistryFees ChargedTrade-InSales TaxTwoAre IncentivesTaxed? TrioDocFeeFourAlabama12.00 $445 Y Y No limitAlaska7.50 $84 Y N No limitArizonaTen.73 $500 Y Y No limitArkansas11.00 $33 Y Y No limitCalifornia8.75 $232 N Y $45Colorado9.90 $510 Y Y No limitConnecticut6.00 $109 Y Y No limitDelaware0.00 $827 Y Y No limitDistrict of ColumbiaFive.75 $100 N Y No limitFlorida7.50 $182 Y Y No limitGeorgia8.00 $38 Y Y No limitHawaiiFour.00 $108 N Y No limitIdaho8.00 $92 Y Y No limitIllinois9.25 $143 Y Y $55.39Indiana6.00 $41 Y Y No limitIowa7.00 $332 Y N No limitKansas8.30 $39 Y Y No limitKentucky6.00 $21 N Y No limitLouisiana11.00 $47 Y N $50MaineFive.00 $48 Y Y No limitMaryland6.00 $106 Y Y $100MassachusettsFive.00 $80 Y Y No limitMichigan6.00 $216 N N $170Minnesota7.50 $365 Y N $50Mississippi7.25 $25 Y Y No limitMissouri9.Ten $63 Y N No LimitMontana0.00 $501 N N No limitNebraska7.00 $85 Y N No limitNevada7.75 $53 Y Y No limitFresh Hampshire0.00 $60 Y N No limitFresh Jersey9.00 $95 Y Y No limitFresh Mexico8.44 $49 Y Y No limitFresh York9.00 $78 Y Y $45North Carolina7.50 $55 Y N No limitNorth Dakota7.50 $70 Y Y No limitOhio7.50 $48 Y Y $250OklahomaTen.85 $102 Y N No limitOregon0.00 $63 Y N $50Pennsylvania7.00 $55 Y N No limitRhode Island7.00 $61 Y N No limitSouth Carolina7.00 $29 Y N No limitSouth Dakota6.00 $48 Y Y No limitTennesseeTen.25 $70 Y Y No limitTexas8.25 $85 Y N $50Utah8.Ten $189 Y N No limitVermont7.00 $53 Y N No limitVirginiaFive.00 $31 N Y No limitWashington8.90 $57 Y Y $35West Virginia6.00 $30 Y Y No limitWisconsinFive.60 $70 Y Y No limitWyoming6.00 $539 Y N No limit (Fees, prices and information current as of November 2006.)
How long do you have to come back a car in Georgia?
Once you purchase the car you own the car and you cannot come back it, period. The cooling off period or buyers regret law does not apply to the purchase of any vehicle.
If you buy a car and have no auto insurance how long do you have to get insurance?
MY Reaction .
no coverage at all. Call an insurance company before palm and set up a binder policy at least for the liability.
Do you need a drivers license to buy a car in Georgia?
You need a GA license if you are planning to lease or finance a car, not if you pay cash. This is because the GA license proof is required by banks who provide the loan – it is not a state regulatory requirement.
Can you get insurance on a car with a salvage title in Georgia?
Liability, certainly. Comprehensive and Collision might not be worth what you would need to pay since they would only give you a fraction of the value of the vehicle if you were in another collision and the vehicle were to be written off again.
How long do you have to come back a used car in Georgia?
There is no comeback time in Georgia. A 72 hour right of rescission is for unsolicited sales. A car purchase is considered solicited because you initiate by visiting the dealership. You bought it and you own it.
If you buy a used car from a private seller in state of Georgia and you put the car in a business name do you have to pay sales tax?
The only time you dont have to pay sales tax on a vehicle is if you are a licensed dealer or wholesaler and you buy the vehicle to resell it.
Buying a car in Georgia what is the DMV penalty to register the car in California?
Info on the CA DMV websitehttp://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/brochures/fast_facts/ffvr29.htmObserve out for smog test which is much stricter in CA than anywhere else 🙂
Do you have to accept recondition parts to repair your car in the state of Georgia from your insurance company?
No!! It’s not the insurance that tells you how to fix your car, it is you who has the legal right to tell the insurance company. I learned this the hard way!
You live in Georgia and brought a fresh car how long do you have to come back it?
Once a contract has been entered for a fresh car in Georgia an ownercannot come back the car. However, many dealerships will work withconsumers and permit vehicles to be returned within a few days.
Can you begin a used car business from home in Georgia?
Embarking a used car dealership from home in Georgia will depend onthe local zoning ordinances. The home must meet the requirementsfor an established place of business defined by the Used MotorVehicle Dealers’ and Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers’ RegistrationAct.
How long do you legally have to redeem your car after its been repossessed in Georgia?
Before your car payment is due, call the lender and ask for extra time. If you’re at least a few months into the loan and haven’t missed any payments, the lender will very likely let you miss one or two months’ payments and tack them on at the end. If you don’t pay or make arrangements with the lender, the lender can repossess without warning, albeit many will warn you to give you a chance to pay what’s due..
If your car is repossessed, you can get it back by paying the entire loan balance and the cost of repossession, or, in some cases, by paying the cost of the repossession and the missed payments, and then continuing to make payments under your contract. If you don’t get the car back, the lender will sell it at an auction almost always for far less than it’s worth. In most cases, you’ll owe the lender the difference inbetween the balance of your loan and what the sale brings in..
If you are far behind on your car payments and can’t catch up, the truth is that you may not be able to afford the car. Under these circumstances, you should think about voluntarily “capitulating” your car before the dealer repossesses it. This strategy can save you expensive repossession costs and attorneys’ fees. Because it also makes life lighter for the dealer, you should attempt to get concessions from the dealer before you give up the car. A dealer will often waive its right to collect the amount left owing on the loan and/or promise not to report the default or repossession to credit bureaus. Attempt to get the dealer to agree not to report negative information to credit bureaus in comeback for your voluntarily capitulating the car. Negative information (such as a capitulate, default, or repossession) will emerge on your credit report for seven years, and will affect your capability to get credit in the future.
How long do you have after a car accident to report and file a claim with the at fault person’s insurance company in Georgia?
One would think that they would get this done within a duo days at the most, if only to make certain that the claim would be processed. Call the insured’s company and ask them about this. Certainly, if one has waited past 30 days, the claim may not be honored.
If you buy a used car in Georgia and want to comeback it how many days do you have?
If you purchase a used car in Georgia and want to come back it, youmay not be able to do so. Some dealers will let you come back it butit is totally up to them and what their contract states.
Can you buy a car in Georgia with a Florida license?
You can purchase a car in Georgia and take it back to Florida whenyou purchase from a major car dealership. Smaller car dealershipsthat finance will likely not permit you to take the car out ofstate.
In Georgia is there a grace period when buying a used car?
There is no cooling off period or grace period when buying a car inGeorgia or in any other state. You buy the car under an as ispolicy.
What is the used car sales tax in Georgia?
As of right now the sales tax in GA on an automobile is based on your county of residence. Whatever you pay for anything in your county will be the same rate of tax for a fresh car. Even if you buy your fresh car out of state, your sales tax will be paid to GA at your county of residence rate. So if you live in say Cherokee County and it cost you 6% tax to buy a fresh pair of footwear at your local shoe retailer, it will also cost you 6% tax to buy a fresh car, even if you by it in a different county that has a higher or lower rate of tax. The only exception to this is buying a vehicle that is titled to an individual (i.e. private sale).
How long does it take to get to brunswick Georgia from jacksonville Florida by car?
I can be at the airport exit from Brunswick in about 50 minutes and in Jax a little over one hour.
How long do you have to buy tag in Georgia for used car?
GEORGIA Fresh TAG LAW!! To get a tagon a car inGeorgia. If you bought the car from a dealeryou have30 days. If you bought it from a private partyyou have7 days …
If you buy a car in Florida and live in Georgia where do you pay taxes?
You pay the taxes of your vehicle under the state you determine toregister this vehicle in.
How long do you have to get a tag on a car in Georgia?
If you bought the car from a dealer you have 30 days if you bought it from a private party you have 7 days in georgia.
How long does a child need to be in a car seat in Georgia?
until the a least Four and then in a booster seat till there about Four’9hope i could help
If you buy a fresh car how long do you have to get it insured with your insurance company?
If you have a loan againest the car you need to contact your insurance company with information about the car before you can drive off the lot. If your insurance company is closed, you will need to contact them the very first thing the next business day. Most insurance companies will cover you on the car your are buying but need all the information right away to give you a quote and have you send them monies for the premium.
How long do you have to get a motorcycle licence after buying a motorcycle in Georgia?
I think it will take a month to process a motorcycle license even in Georgia.
What if you buy a fresh car in Georgia and find out it is used?
One thing you can do is report it to the better business bureau. I would certainly treatment the dealer and ask for an explanation to begin with. Still, this is never happen to me, and I am sure I would look into other recourse’s
In Georgia can you buy a car without a driver license?
There is no prohibition against buying a vehicle e – or even registering it in your state without possessing a license – you just can’t drive it.
How long does it take to get from North Carolina to Georgia by car?
Suggested routesI-95 S————————————————— 461 mi7 hours 51 mins .
I-95 S and I-20 W ————————————- 456 mi8 hours 28 mins .
I-85 S ————————————————— 548 mi8 hours 51 mins .
Can you get car insurance in Georgia on a car that is not in your name?
No. You cannot insure a vehicle that you do not own. The only exception to this is in a family situation where a married duo has one vehicle in one name and the other vehicle in the other name. I always recommend that the insurance be listed in both names to prevent any problems and to permit both parties to make switches and sign documents. The fact is that you cannot insure something that you don’t own because if the property is bruised you have no financial loss so the company cannot pay you and since they don’t have a contract with the holder of the vehicle they can’t pay them either. If you buy insurance on a vehicle you don’t own then you have committed material misrepresentation on the insurance application and the insurance contract is null and void. Simply don’t do it.
Do you pay sales tax on a used car in Georgia if you buy it from an individual?
I checked with my local tag office today and they said you do not have to pay tax if the vehicle is purchased from a private proprietor.
Where would you purchase used police cars in Georgia?
you cantThere is a place in Homer, GA on US 441 that sells them. Their name escapes me. It is north on 441 from I-85 about Two to Trio miles on the left.
Do you pay tax if you buy used car in Georgia?
If you purchase from a private possessor then no. If purchased from a dealer then yes.
Can you be arrested for no car insurance in Georgia?
Usually a citation will be issued and you will be ordered to emerge in court. Most often an arrest will not occur. Correction: 17-6-11 Of Georgia State Code states that you cannot be arrested for insurance requirements. 17-6-11 (a) Any other laws to the contrary notwithstanding, any person who is apprehended by an officer for the disturbance of the laws of this state or ordinances relating to: (1) traffic, including any offense under Code Section 40-5-72 or 40-6-10, but excepting any other offense for which a license may be suspended for a very first offense by the commissioner of driver services, any offense covered under Code Section 40-5-54, or any offense covered under Article 15 of Chapter 6 of Title 40; (Two) the licensing and registration of motor vehicles and operators; (Trio) the width, height, and length of vehicles and explosions; (Four) motor common carriers and motor contract carriers; or (Five) road taxes on motor carriers as provided in Article Two of Chapter 9 of Title 48 upon being served with the official summons issued by such apprehending officer, in lieu of being instantaneously brought before the decent magistrate, recorder, or other judicial officer to come in into a formal recognizance or make direct the deposit of a decent sum of money in lieu of a recognizance ordering incarceration, may display his or her driverÌs license to the apprehending officer in lieu of bail, in lieu of coming in into a recognizance for his or her appearance for trial as set in the aforesaid summons, or in lieu of being incarcerated by the apprehending officer and held for further activity by the adequate judicial officer. The apprehending officer shall note the driverÌs license number on the official summons. The summons duly served as provided in this Code section shall give the judicial officer jurisdiction to dispose of the matter. (b) Upon display of the driverÌs license, the apprehending officer shall release the person so charged for his or her further appearance before the decent judicial officer as required by the summons. The court in which the charges are lodged shall instantaneously forward to the Department of Driver Services of this state the driverÌs license number if the person fails to emerge and response to the charge against him or her. The commissioner of driver services shall, upon receipt of a license number forwarded by the court, suspend the driverÌs license and driving privilege of the defaulting person until notified by the court that the charge against the person has been eventually adjudicated. Such personÌs license shall be reinstated if the person submits proof of payment of the fine from the court of jurisdiction and pays to the Department of Driver Services a restoration fee of $50.00 or $25.00 when such reinstatement is processed by mail. (b.1) It shall be the duty of a law enforcement officer or emergency medical technician responding to the scene of any motor vehicle accident or other accident involving a fatal injury to examine instantly the driverÌs license of the victim to determine the victimÌs wishes concerning organ donation. If the victim has indicated that he or she wishes to be an organ donor, it shall be the duty of such law enforcement officer or emergency medical technician to take adequate act to ensure, if possible, that the victimÌs organs shall not be imperiled by delay in verification by the donorÌs next of kin. (c) Nothing in this Code section bars any law enforcement officer from arresting or from seizing the driverÌs license of any individual possessing a fraudulent license or a suspended license or operating a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended, outside the scope of a driving permit, or without a license. (d) The commissioner of driver services shall be authorized to promulgate reasonable rules and regulations to carry out the purposes of this Code section and to establish agreements with other states whereby a valid license from that state may be accepted for purposes of this Code section.
Your aunt in Georgia passed you were left a car who pays to get it shiped to us the Georgia estate or you?
That will depend on the wording of the will. It most cases it will be the responsibility of the receiver.
How much is car insurance in Georgia?
Your question is similar to “How much is a car?”. It will depend the the make, model and age of the car, what insurance coverage you buy, where the car is located in Georgia, who is driving the car (age, driving record) and whether the person has taken driver safety training. There is simply no one response to your question.
How long after buying a car in Florida do you have to get insurance on it?
There is no grace period. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle on public roads without proof of financial responsibility.
Can you put utter coverage insurance on a car with a salvage title car in Georgia?
I know of no insurance company in any U.S. sate that will give you utter coverage on a salvaged vehicle.
How long can children stay on their parent’s health insurance in Georgia?
Per the provisions of the healthcare bill until the end of the month following the child’s 26th bday.
Do you need car insurance on a scooter under 49cc in georgia?
If it is permitted for road use at all you must have insurance on it. The policy you would need would be a motorcycle policy tho’ and not car insurance.
When you buy a fresh or used car how long do you have to get insurance in NC?
If you buy it from a dealer, you won’t leave that lot without insurance on the vehicle. Legally, that vehicle needs to be insured before you drive it on any public roadway, regardless of if you buy from a dealership or a private seller.
What is the penalty of operating a vehicle without car insurance in Georgia?
I would think you’d have to go to court certainly, and get a suspension. (60-90 days)After that, you will get a fine of $200.00 and/or jail time (12 months) of not both depending on how long your car insurance has been expired -Hope this helped!
Where can one obtain car insurance in Georgia?
Some of the options for a car holder seeking auto insurance in Georgia are Liberty Mutual and Nationwide. Other places that one might obtain car insurance are Geico, State Farm, and Peachstate Insurance.
How long can you drive after buying a car without auto insurance in Georgia?
You cannot drive a vehicle without insurance for any time. This means you must purchase insurance before you put the vehicle on the road or you are instantly in disturbance of state law. You also cannot purchase a tag and registration in Georgia without having insurance. The state has a computerized system that keeps up with insurance and registration. Many police vehicles are now tooled with a system that works like radar except that it tells whether you have current insurance and whether or not your registration is current. I had a client parked at work whose insurance had cancelled two days earlier but she was ticketed at work for not having current insurance.
Are you covered by a family member’s insurance when driving their car in Georgia?
As long as you are sure they have insurance and if you are listed as a drive on such insurance policy. If these cases are both yes then you will be covered under their insurance as long as you have permission to drive the vehicle.
Will a speeding ticket in Georgia affect your car insurance in Massachusetts?
Absolutely. States are coordinated together with their computer systems so that items such as driving violations, warrants, child support collection, tax liens, etc. are collective from one state to another instantaneously. When you receive a ticket in any other state it will display up on your driving record where you are licensed.
Can you have Florida car insurance with a Georgia license?
This would depend on the rules for the insurance company involved. Some companies may permit you time to obtain a fresh drivers license if you moved into a state from another recently. The time permitted would also depend on the company and their regulations.
Can you get gap insurance in Georgia after you buy your car?
Sure. You are much better off to get GAP insurance from your insurance company than by buying it from the dealer. If you buy from the dealer you will pay lots of money for the insurance plus you pay for GAP insurance for the life of the loan in advance then pay interest on it as it is financed in your loan. GAP insurance is coverage for the difference in the actual cash value of the vehicle and the amount owed on the vehicle. Reason shows that you will only be upside down in your loan when you very first buy a fresh car because the value decrease quick the very first year while the loan doesn’t reduce as swift. You can purchase GAP coverage from your insurance company for a few dollars ($5-10) for a policy period and when the loan balance drops below the value of the car you can drop it. Say the very first two years of a five year loan you owe more than the value however it is most likely less. For two years you may pay $40 for the coverage from an insurance company then drop the coverage. From the dealer you paid $850 plus interest and you can’t cancel it even however it will not pay off anything after the very first two years. To response your question, most insurance companies will let you add GAP coverage for the very first 6 months after you add the car to your policy.